Ridin’ Dirty

Since I was little we used to get our vacations time spend in Zacatecas, México. And till now, not much has changed.

I asked for my vacations at work, to get my wedding details in order. And we hit the road again (we: my parents and I). Since I was a kid, my dad drives from southwest Mexico, going in scale to so many beautiful places, hidden gems and touristic places from my Mexico querido. I’m proud to say that from all the 31 states, I’ve been in most of them. I do have a bucket list of states to visit, but:

Aguascalientes, Baja California Norte, Campeche, Colima, Chiapas, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Estado de México, Michoacán, Morelos, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatán, Méx D.F., Tabasco and Zacatecas are on my checked list.

And I’m grateful to say that it’s all because of my Dad, he loves to make stops on our way, meeting new places. Drive to the next city and look around the attractions, getting up in the morning to go the principal park, the main church, the mercados where you can actually see the typical food of the region.

Even tho I’ve been in several states, doesn’t mean I have been in all the touristic places of them, or that I know all the state, so I still have a look gems to find or to go.

This road trip was indeed different than all the others. This time it was just my parents and me alone the way, and felt warm to feel like a kid again, and get spoiled just by them without my siblings. Since I finished school, and I work, our vacations periods don’t match as it used to, now I have just one week, and I have to take the plane to get to them, I miss our family roadtrips, our pit stops, and going to new places with my family, getting spoiled ordering whatever we wanted on the menu, and getting all the snacks at the stores on the gas stations stops.

I had never had the opportunity to been in San Miguel de Allende, so I told my dad that would be could to stop by……….Without notice him in advance, just like 1 hour since I saw the sign on the road, he said: If you want to, we go..Just say it!. My dad is amazing. So we did, and let me tell you, If you never been there, it’s a magical place indeed. The streets, the houses, the churches, the colors. It’s all wonderland. So if you get a chance, take it.

Desde que era pequeña solía ir de vacaciones a Zacatecas, México. Y hasta el día de hoy, no mucho ha cambiado.

Pedí mis vacaciones en el trabajo para tener en orden detalles de mi boda. Así que agarramos camino denuevo (mis papás y yo). Desde que era niña, mi papá maneja desde el sureste de Mexico, yendo en escala a varios lugares hermosos, gemas escondidas y lugares turisticos de mi México querido. Orgullosa estoy de decir que de los 31 estados, he estado en la mayoria de ellos, aún tengo una lista de estados por visitar pero:

Aguascalientes, Baja California Norte, Campeche, Colima, Chiapas, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Estado de México, Michoacán, Morelos, Nuevo León, Oaxaca, Puebla, Querétaro, Quintana Roo, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatán, Méx D.F., Tabasco and Zacatecas están en mi lista de lugares visitados.

Y agradecida de decir que todo es gracias a mi Padre, ama hacer paradas en el camino y conocer lugares nuevos. Manejar hasta la próxima ciudad y ver las atracciones alrededor, levantarse temprano en la mañana para ir al parque principal, la Iglesia principal, los mercados donde realmente se ve la comida típica de la región.

Aun cuando he estado en varios estados, no significa que he estado en todos sus lugares turísticos o que conozco todo el estado. Así que aun tengo gemas por encontrar y/o ir.

Este viaje, fue diferente en todo sentido a los otros. Esta vez, eran solo mis padres y yo en el camino, se sentía la calidad de volverme a sentir niña nuevamente, sentirme mimada y consentida sin mis hermanos. Desde que terminé la escuela y ahora que trabajo, nuestros periodos de vacaciones no coinciden como antes, ahora tengo solo una semana y tengo que viajar en avión para llegar a donde están. Extraño nuestros paseos en la carretera, nuestras paradas y los lugares nuevos con la familia, ser consentida ordenando lo que quisieramos del menú y agarrando todas las chucherias en las tiendita de la gasolinera.

Nunca había tenido oportunidad de estar en San Miguel de Allende, así que le dije a mi papá que podríamos parar…….Sin haberle dado tiempo de programarlo, solo una hora antes desde que vi el letrero en el camino, el dijo: Si quieres, vamos. Solo dí. Mi papá es grandioso. Así que fuimos, y dejenme decirles si nunca han estado ahi: es un lugar mágico. Las calles, las casas, las iglesias, los colores, Todo es maravilloso. Si tienen oportunidad, vayan.

Veracruz

What a view from a bridge in Veracruz.

IMG_20140510_180603169_HDR

A hawaiian girl dancing all the way.

IMG_20140510_175244127_HDR

Sunset on the road, Puebla.

IMG_20140510_194725

Amazing sun show at San Juan del Río, Qro.

On the road

Rainy days on the road.

Calles de San Miguel de Allende

Running like a chicken with no head in the streets of San Miguel de Allende.

IMG_20140511_103101

Detail inside the Parroquia of San Miguel Arcángel.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

Feeling romantic

 

For the road!

Leave a Reply

